Which Universities (Public & Private) Require NBT for 2023/2024

Filed in Article, Education by on June 17, 2022 2 Comments

Which Universities (Public & Private) Require NBT for 2023… Are you looking for a list of Universities both Public and Private which require the National Benchmark Test (NBT) for admission? If yes, then this informative article is for you. You will be given detailed information about the list of Universities that require the National Benchmark Test (NBT) for admission.

About National Benchmark Test (NBT)

The National Benchmark Tests (NBTs) are assessments for first-year applicants to higher education institutions. The NBTs were designed to measure a writer’s ability to transfer understanding of Academic Literacy, Quantitative Literacy, and Mathematics to the demands of tertiary coursework.

The National Benchmark Tests comprise three multiple-choice tests, written as a combined Academic Literacy and Quantitative Literacy (AQL) test, and a separate Mathematics test. The AQL is a three-hour test that consists of an Academic Literacy (AL) section and a Quantitative Literacy (QL) section. The results of the two sections of the test are recorded separately. The second test is Mathematics (MAT), which is also multiple-choice and three hours in duration.

The Academic Literacy (AL) test targets a writer’s capacity to engage successfully with the demands of academic study in the medium of instruction of the test.

The Quantitative Literacy (QL) test targets a writer’s ability to manage situations or solve problems in a real context that is relevant to higher education study, using basic quantitative information that may be presented verbally, graphically, or in tabular or symbolic form.

The Cognitive Academic Mathematics Proficiency Test (CAMP) is a three-hour test that targets a writer’s ability related to mathematical concepts formally regarded as part of the secondary school curriculum (Mathematics Papers 1 and 2) relevant for Higher Education studies.

Public Universities Which Require NBT

1. Cape Peninsula University of Technology

2. Central University of Technology

3. Durban University of Technology

4. Mangosuthu University of Technology

5. Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University

6. North-West University

7. Rhodes University

8. Stellenbosch University

9. Tshwane University of Technology

10. University of Cape Town

11. University of Fort Hare

12. University of the Free State

13. University of Johannesburg

14. University of KwaZulu-Natal

15. University of Limpopo

16. University of Pretoria

17. University of Venda for Science and Technology

18. University of the Western Cape

19. University of the Witwatersrand

20. University of Zululand

21. Vaal University of Technology

22. Walter Sisulu University

23. Sol Plaatje University

24. University of Mpumulanga.

Private Universities Which Require NBT

1. Monash South Africa

2. The Independent Institute of Education:

  • Vega School of Brand Leadership
  • Rosebank College
  • Design School of Southern Africa.

What’s your take on this? We believe this article was helpful, if yes, don’t hesitate to share this information with your friends on Facebook, Twitter, WhatsApp, and other Social Platforms.

Comments (2)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Nomtha says:

    Update: University of Pretoria will not use NBT tests for Undergraduates of 2022.

Leave a Reply