UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2022 And How To Apply Online

Filed in Awards by on April 29, 2022 0 Comments

UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2022… Do you wish to apply for the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2022? If yes, then this informative article is for you. You will be given detailed information about UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2022, Eligibility And How To Apply.

All champions in the field of literacy learning are encouraged to apply and nominating entities to be ready to engage and nominate their favourite candidates from around the world.

Like every year, UNESCO will reward six individuals or organizations for their outstanding projects that promote literacy learning and for this year’s edition are requested to reflect around the theme ‘Transforming literacy learning spaces’. The theme aims to present the different existing learning spaces (work, school, family, learning centers) and highlight the relation and various interconnections among them.

Since 1967, the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes have rewarded excellence and innovation in the field of literacy. Over 506 projects and programs around the world have already received recognition and support for their excellent work.


Currently there are two UNESCO International Literacy Prizes:

  • The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (3 awards): established in 1989 and  supported by the Government of the Republic of Korea. It gives special consideration to programs that promote mother language-based literacy development.
    Each UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize winner receives a medal, a diploma and US$20,000.
  • The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 awards): established in 2005 and  supported by the Government of the People’s Republic of China. This Prize recognizes programs that promote literacy, including functional literacy, leveraging technological environments, in support of adults in rural areas and out-of-school youth.
    Each UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy winner receives a medal, a diploma and US$30,000.


  • Open to all governments, non-governmental organizations and individuals who, through projects and programs, contribute to the promotion and advancement of literacy learning.
  • All applications should be submitted to the nominating entities, the National Commission for UNESCO in the country of the program, or an NGO that is in an official partnership with UNESCO, who are encouraged to communicate the nominated individuals, institutions and organizations to UNESCO.

How To Apply

  • Deadline for candidates to submit applications to nominating entities: June 6, 2022 (midnight, Paris time).
  • Deadline for nominating entities to submit their nominations to UNESCO: June 20, 2022 (midnight, Paris time).

Candidates can submit their applications through the online platform

For more information, visit UNESCO Prizes.

Application Deadline: June 20, 2022

What’s your take on this? We believe this article was helpful, if yes, don’t hesitate to share this information with your friends on Facebook, Twitter, WhatsApp, and other Social Platforms.

Leave a Reply